Key stage 4

During key stage 4 most pupils work towards national qualifications - usually GCSEs.

The compulsory national curriculum subjects are the ‘core’ and ‘foundation’ subjects.

Core subjects are:

  • English
  • maths
  • science

Foundation subjects are:

  • computing
  • physical education
  • citizenship

Schools must also offer at least one subject from each of these areas:

  • arts
  • design and technology
  • humanities
  • modern foreign languages

They must also provide religious education (RE) and sex education at key stage 4.

Further information about the KS4 curriculum in Wales can be found here.

At Key Stage 4 (Years 10 and 11) most pupils will study a range of GCSE or Vocational subjects.  The subjects studied will comprise of ‘core’ subjects made up of English, Mathematics, Numeracy, Science as well as Welsh, PE, PSE (including Careers Education and Sex Education) and the new Welsh Baccalaureate Qualification.    


WJEC Qualifications.

If the school still follows an AQA syllabus for any of the GCSE subjects you can access them here and past papers here.

For Edexcel past papers click here.

Many schools now offer vocational courses such as BTEC qualifications.