The following are the exam boards used by the schools in the City and County of Swansea.  You can access the exam board websites using the links below.  If you need to access subject specific pages, follow the links through the subject specific page for your school.



AQA is an independent education charity and the largest provider of academic qualifications taught in schools and colleges. They set and mark the papers for around half of all GCSEs and A-levels taken every year.

AQA qualifications are internationally recognised and taught in 30 countries around the world. They are highly valued by employers and universities and enable young people to progress to the next stage of their lives. Their qualifications suit a range of abilities and include GCSEs, IGCSEs, A-levels, Tech-levels, the Extended Project Qualification and the AQA Baccalaureate. 

Any money made through providing qualifications gets invested back into education. For example, AQA fund research through our Centre for Education Research and Practice, and the AQA Unlocking Potential programme helps develop and inspire young people facing challenges in life. 

With foundations in five universities, we have over a century of qualifications expertise. Today, they employ more than 1,000 people and work with around 25,000 teachers, lecturers, subject experts and academics, who help set and mark our exams. We also work collaboratively with teachers to create resources that are designed around their day-to-day needs. 

They are led by our Corporate Board and governed by a Council of trustees drawn from schools, colleges, higher education, children’s services and the business community.

For subjects click here or qualifications click here

For past papers click here

For exam dates click here



WJEC is an examination board, providing qualifications and exam assessment to schools and colleges in England, Wales, Northern Ireland and independent regions. With over 65 years’ experience in delivering qualifications, WJEC is the largest provider in Wales and a leading provider in England and Northern Ireland. The organisation employs over 360 people and continues to grow.

WJEC was established in 1948 as a consortium of local education authorities in Wales. Now a registered independent charity, the organisation is managed by a Board of Directors and Senior Management Team.

WJEC CBAC Ltd. is a company limited by guarantee, registered in England and Wales (no. 3150875) and is a registered charity (no. 1073332). A subsidiary company, WJEC CBAC Services Limited, provides specialist printing and publication services. Eduqas is a registered trademark of WJEC CBAC Ltd. 



WJEC provides internationally recognised GCSE, AS, A level and vocational qualifications to students aged 14–19. WJEC qualifications delivered in Wales are regulated by Welsh Government and those delivered in England are regulated by Ofqual.

Through the Eduqas brand, WJEC offers Ofqual reformed qualifications to schools and colleges in England. These qualifications will be first taught in September 2015. Visit the Eduqas website for more information.  


Digital Resources

These resources are freely available from the WJEC resources website and Eduqas resources website

For subjects and qualifications click here 

For past papers click follow the subject specific link on your school page or click here.

For exam dates click here



OCR is a leading UK awarding body. They provide qualifications which engage people of all ages and abilities at school, college, in work or through part-time learning programmes.

OCR’s general and vocational qualifications equip learners with the knowledge and skills they need for their future, helping them achieve their full potential. 

They work with schools, colleges, workplaces and other institutions in the public and private sector. Over 13,000 centres choose the A Levels, GCSEs and vocational qualifications we offer, such as Cambridge Nationals, Cambridge Technicals and Cambridge Progression qualifications.

OCR develop qualifications in close consultation with teachers, industry leaders and government to ensure they are relevant for learners today and meet requirements set by Office of Qualifications and Examinations Regulation (Ofqual).

OCR provides GCSEs and A Levels in over 40 subjects and offer over 450 vocational qualifications.

Their heritage is long established and provides them with expertise across the full range of academic and vocational qualifications. Since becoming established in 1998 their experience, knowledge and skills have enabled OCR to build a reputation for reliably high standards. As part of the Cambridge Assessment Group, they have access to unrivalled expertise and research capability across assessment and examinations.


The Cambridge Assessment Group

Established in 1858 and originally named The University of Cambridge Local Examinations Syndicate (UCLES), the Cambridge Assessment Group owns and manages the University's three exam boards. It is now Europe's largest assessment agency and operates in over 150 countries, playing a leading role in developing and delivering assessment across the world.

For subjects click here and qualifications click here

For past papers click here.

For exam dates click here.

This section has many other useful links for students and parents.



Edexcel is the brand name for academic and general qualifications from Pearson including GCSEs and A levels, as well as some vocational qualifications, including NVQs and Functional Skills.

Designed to advance learners’ skills while developing knowledge, Edexcel’s qualifications help learners either progress to higher education or go directly into employment. They are grounded in the quality and traditions of the British education system made relevant for today’s UK and international learners.

In the UK, Edexcel qualifications are suitable for a wide range of learners aged from 14 to 19. International schools can also offer the Edexcel Primary and Lower Secondary Curricula, so learners range from 8 to 19 years old.

Edexcel is a qualification brand for academic and generation qualifications from Pearson.

Edexcel began as an awarding organisation following the merger of London Examinations and BTEC in 1996. After Pearson became our awarding organisation in April 2013, Edexcel became a qualification brand, now standing as one of Pearson’s leading brands.

For subjects click here and qualifications click here

For past papers click here.



BTECs are vocational qualifications designed to give students the skills they need to either move on to higher education or go straight into employment. They give teachers the freedom to create a programme that they want to teach and that students will want to learn. 

BTEC has earned its reputation as the world’s most successful applied learning qualification, providing students with a clear line of sight into work. Encouraging students to take responsibility for their own learning, BTEC develops the practical, interpersonal and thinking skills essential for professional life.

BTECs are developed in consultation with employers and higher education experts, so they can trust that anyone who is BTEC qualified will demonstrate the high standards of knowledge, practical skills and understanding required for further study and employment.

For more information on BTEC qualifications and study click here.